New Articles

Submit Articles

About Us


Politics & Govt




Borno State - Nigeria


Borno state came into existence on February 3rd, 1976 after the split of the north-eastern state, it is therefore located in the same region of Nigeria. The present Borno state is a lot smaller than the former, because Yobe state was carved out of the western part of the state in 1991.

The state comprises of 27 local government areas and shares boundaries as follows; Republic of Niger to the north, Republic of Chad to the north-east, Cameroon to the east, Adamawa state to the south, Gombe state to the south-west, and Yobe state to the west .

Maiduguri ( the largest city) is the capital of Borno state and also the main industrial centre. The population of the state is estimated to be 4,151,193 and the main stay of the state's economy are agriculture and livestock farming. Borno state is richly blessed with numerous fishery and mineral resources, traditions and cultural heritage. The Kyarimi Park in Maiduguri, Lake Chad, Sambissa Game Reserve and Jaffi falls ( to mention a few) serve as great tourist attractions.

This article is very skeletal and needs improvement: Please help us improve on it. Click Here to submit a comprehensive overview of the state.


          Official Website of Borno State

References: Nigeria Factbook, 2007 (First Edition) Published By Risafu & Company.
    Borno. ( 2008). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved March  21,  2008, from Encyclopædia Britannica Online:

Copyright © 2008 All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | User Agreement | Contact Us | Sitemap | Link to Us | Link Directory Cash for junk cars