New Articles

Submit Articles

About Us


Politics & Govt




Cross River State - Nigeria


The state was created may 27th, 1967 as the south-eastern state, but re-named Cross River in February 1976. It got smaller when Akwa-Ibom state was carved out of it in 1987. It has 18 local government areas and shares boundaries with Cameroon republic to the east, Akwa-Ibom and the Atlantic ocean to the south, Benue state to the north, Enugu and Abia states to the west. It has an estimated population of 2,888,966 people and the state capital is Calabar.

Cross River state has three main language groups; Bekwara, Efik and Ejagham. The groups share a lot of cultural similarities such as the traditional festivals and their ways of life.

The state has a predominantly agricultural economy that is divided into private and public sectors. The public sector is run by the government while the private sector consist mainly of the local subsistence farmers. The state is blessed with abundant mineral resources and a few of them include tin ore, limestone, hard stone, titanium and ceramic raw materials.

Cross River state also has numerous tourist attractions and these include; Agbokin waterfalls, Etampim cave, Mary Siessor's tomb, Obudu cattle ranch, Cross River national park, Obubra lake,  and old residency museum in Calabar.

This article is very skeletal and needs improvement: Please help us improve on it. Click Here to submit a comprehensive overview of the state.


Official Website of Cross River State


References: Nigeria Factbook, 2007 (First Edition) Published By Risafu & Company.

Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | User Agreement | Contact Us | Sitemap | Link to Us | Link Directory Cash for junk cars