New Articles

Submit Articles

About Us


Politics & Govt




Lagos State - Nigeria

  Current Governor: Babatunde Raji Fashola

Lagos was one of the 12 states created on May 27, 1967 in accordance to Decree No. 14 of 1967. It is the smallest of the states in Nigeria, but it is the second most populous state in Nigeria, with an estimated population of 9,013,534. Lagos state is the economic nerve center of the country, boasting of over 2,000 industries. It is the immediate past federal capital of Nigeria and is still recognized worldwide for its bustling business activities.  It houses two of the largest seaports in Nigeria - Tin Can and Apapa ports.

Lagos state is divided into five administrative divisions: Lagos, Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu and Ikeja. It has twenty local governments areas and shares boundaries with Republic of Benin to the west, the Atlantic ocean to the south and Ogun state in the north-east.

This article is very skeletal and needs improvement: Please help us improve on it. Click Here to submit a comprehensive overview of the state.


Official Website Of Lagos State


References: Nigeria Factbook, 2007 (First Edition) Published By Risafu & Company.
    Lagos. (2008). In Encyclopędia Britannica. Retrieved March 14, 2008, from Encyclopędia Britannica Online:

Copyright © 2008 All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | User Agreement | Contact Us | Sitemap | Link to Us | Link Directory